Club Christmas Races

Monday 23rd December
4 mile Christmas Handicap, Quarrellton Road Johnstone
7.30pm start Meeting at the Cochrane Castle Community Centre

Thursday 26th December
Boxing Day Relay
1pm for 1.30pm start Kilbarchan Public Park

Sunday 29th December
Marshal Moor Race
1pm for 1.30pm start Kilbarchan Public Park

Tuesday 31st December
Donald Crawford Cup 11 mile handicap
1pm for 1.30pm start Kilbarchan Public Park


Glasgow Uni 5 Mile Road Race

Congratulations to Derek Hawkins who won the 5 mile race in 24:32 this afternoon.

Kilbarchan Finishers:

1 Derek Hawkins 24:32
8 Scott MacAulay 26:51
43 John McMillan 31:02
50 Tony Carroll 31:44
150 Linda Stachan 45:39

Well done everyone!

Full Results

Press Release – Mon 26 Nov 2013

Kilbarchan Athletic Club had a number of athletes at the UK Cross Challenge meeting at Liverpool at the weekend, the event also being the selection race for the UK teams for the European Cross Country Championships which take place in Belgrade on 8th December.

Callum Hawkins from Elderslie, on his first major cross country event since returning from injury, continued his recent progress, finishing 6th in the Senior Mens 10K race, time 29 minutes 13 seconds. Callum was 3rd in the under 23s category and this fine effort should ensure his place in the UK under 23 mens team for Belgrade.

In the Womens event, best placed was Elspeth Curran, 26th, which was a good effort against some of Britain’s best.

Further down the age-groups there were some other good performances including Gwen Gillham 12th in the under 17 girls race and Andrew MacAngus, 15th for the under 13 boys ..

Away from the glamour of International events, a special word for Kilbarchan Harrier Brian Graham, not one of the club’s stars but a regular member and competitor.

Last weekend, Brian completed his 100th Pollok parkrun 5K race, an achievement in itself but also in a personal best time of 23 minutes 3 seconds.

Arthur Smith

European XC Championship Team Announcement

British Athletics have today announced the GB & NI team for the SPAR European Cross Country Championships in Belgrade, Serbia, on Sunday 8 December.

Callum Hawkins will be a member of the Under 23 team following his excellent showing at Liverpool on Sunday.

Full Team Announcement 

Congratulations and best of luck for the race.

“It was a frustrating time and there was a lot of rehab work that had to be done after knee operations in March 2012 and then in December that year as well. I want to thank my physio, Linda Hardy of the sportscotland Institute of Sport, for all the support over the past few months. I’ve felt much better in the last few weeks and it was a decent run in Liverpool.

“I had actually not done a cross country event since the Edinburgh one right at the start of 2012 – so almost two years. But I’ve been to Euro and World Cross events before and worn the GB vest so I kind of know what to expect although It does feel a while ago now. It will be great to do it again in Belgrade and run for GB.”

Quote by Callum Hawkins


follow us on Twitter @kilbarchanaac