Under 12 Super Teams, Emirates Arena, Sat 1 Feb 2014


Well done all and my thanks to Katrina for helping me out as it’s quite a challenge. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. Here are the official results plus my split times for the relays. See you at training on Monday.

Jason Pender


Coaching Assistant Award

Scottish Athletics have opened up the Coaching Assistant award to any athlete older than 16
If you are interested in coaching contact Ricky Miell or Robert Hawkins
Full details of the Coaching Assistant award is on the coaching page of the cub’s website

Updated Coaching Assistant award

AGE – We have agreed that for a limited time the age for this course
will drop to 16 years of age.

Tutors will evaluate the affect of having under 18 year olds on
course, positive or negative.

ALL UNDER 18 year olds MUST be working in clubs with support from
club coaches, they must be deployed.

No closed courses for Under 18’s only can be a challenge for the
tutors on course.

The insurance offered to those coaches between 16 and 18 will be
limited to the cover offered by Athletics Leaders at present, see

Renfrewshire AAA Road Race Championships, Battery Park, Greenock, Sun 2 Feb 2014

Date: Sunday 2nd February 2014
Start Location: Battery Park, Greenock
Changing, Declarations, Parking and Presentations: Royal West of Scotland Boat Club, Greenock (Gourock end of Esplanade), from 11am (NB changing in the Battery Park facility, not available).
Declarations: young athletes 11am-12pm, seniors 12:30-1:30pm
Presentations: young athletes 1:45pm, seniors: after 3pm

Bus Times

Bus starting in Paisley, leaving from:
Canal St Bus stop .. 10.00 sharp
Thorndene .. 10.05
Beith Rd Garage .. 10.10
Kilbarchan library .. 10.15
Bridge of Weir Bulls .. 10.25
Kilmacolm Cross .. 10.30
Bus and race entry £5 for Young athletes, Seniors £7
Those going direct, Young Athletes £2, Seniors £3
Those going direct, please be there at least 1 hour before race time, or as required by your team manager.

Race start times

Boys u11 ie 9-10 on 31/8/13              1mile               12 noon
Girls u11 ie 9-10 on  31/8/13              1mile               12.15
u13 boys and girls  ie 11-12 on           31/8/13            2miles              12.30
u15 boys and girls  ie 13-14 on           31/8/13            2miles              12.50
u17 men and women ie 15-16 on        31/8/13            3 miles               1.15
Sen Men and Senior Women (incl u20s)                     5 miles              1.45

(Note .. Age categories – age at 1st September 2013).

Course Maps

5Mile Course

3Mile Course2Mile CourseMile Course

Press Release – Weds 29 Jan 2014

There was top class Athletics at the Emirates Arena in Glasgow last weekend with some fine performances by local athletes.

Kilbarchan’s Claire Gibson was pleased to get an invite to represent the Commonwealth team as Laura Muir was the Scottish selection. Unfortunately, Claire was badly baulked by one of the other athletes who virtually stopped in front of her, but still a good experience for Claire.

Elsewhere, there were a number of local athletes competing in various parkruns.
Robert Quinn was first home at Pollok Park in 16 minutes 42 seconds and David Mackintosh was 2nd at Victoria Park, time 17.04.

This weekend, the Scottish Masters Cross Country Championships are at Hawick on Saturday and the Renfrewshire Road Race Champs are at Greenock’s Battery Park on Sunday.

Arthur Smith

Scottish National XC Championships, Falkirk, Sat 22 Feb 2014

Entries to your coach or Arthur Smith by Thursday 30th January 2014.

Venue: Callendar Park, Falkirk





Under 13 Boys



3,200 metres

Under 13 Girls



3,200  “

Under 15 Boys



4,000  “

Under 15 Girls



4,000  “

U17 / U20 Women



4,800  “

Under 17 Men



6,400  “

Senior Women



8,000  “

Under 20 Men



8,000  “

Senior Men



12,000  “


(1) As last year all the Championships will be recorded and timed by chip attached to athlete’s laces. All athletes MUST wear a chip AND a number pinned to the club vest. In the U17W and U20W numbers will be worn back and front.

(2) Clubs entering are asked to provide two marshals to assist on the course.  The names and contact emails for the marshals should be emailed not later than Saturday 8th February to alex.jackson@ed.ac.uk who will also answer any questions on marshalling.

Scottish National XC Championships, Senior Male Entries

If you are a Senior Male interested in competing please fill out the form below to confirm entry.

Date: Saturday 22nd February 2014
Location: Callendar Park, Falkirk
Declarations Close: 2:00pm
Race Starts: 2:30pm

Closing date to confirm entry: Thursday 30 January 2014

Entry Fee: tbc

To confirm entry in this race please fill out the following form*:

*Athletes must complete this form by the closing date to confirm entry. Any athlete that does not submit their details will not be entered and unable to participate (no exceptions).  If an athlete confirms entry and fails to show for the event they will be liable for the entry fee cost.

follow us on Twitter @kilbarchanaac