Press Release, Tues 10 Oct 2017

There was a record turnout of over 100 teams, competing in the George Cummings Road Relays at Houston last Saturday.Race Organisers Kilbarchan Athletic Club, had a good day, dominating the Ladies race to win the Trust Inn Trophy.

Kilbarchan’s winning team included Elspeth Curran, Chloe Simpson and Jennifer Rooney, with Elspeth running the fastest lap, time 14.51. This also won Kilbarchan the Renfrewshire County Road Relay Championship. Kilbarchan also won the over 40s award, team of Sharon Hastie, Una McIntyre and Caroline Cochran. The Kilbarchan B team of Holly Thompson, Elaine Eadie and Libby Sutherland were 6th in the Ladies race and won Bronze medals for finishing 3rd in the County Championships.

Giffnock North won the Mens race and the George Cummings Trophy, their Luke Traynor running the fastest lap, 12.15. Corstorphine AC were 2nd ahead of Inverclyde AC and Cambuslang Harriers with the Kilbarchan team of Euan McKerral, Cameron Wright, Josh Hendry and Callum Hawkins, in 5th place with Callum 2nd fastest overall with a time of time 12.20. The Kilbarchan team were also 3rd in the County Championship.

Scottish Athletics have announced the teams to represent Scotland at the British and Irish Masters International Cross Country race to be held in Londonderry on Saturday 18 November and three Kilbarchan athletes have been selected . Robert Quinn and Robert McCulloch will be in the M50 team and Donald Petrie for the M60 team.

This coming Sunday, the West District Cross Country relay Championships are being staged over Hamilton racecourse.

Arthur Smith


Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.