West District XC Relays Results, Sun 11 Oct 2015

Full Results

The sun shone brightly on a good afternoon of racing at Hamilton Park Racecourse as the racing action kicked off with the young females race. Alisha Sivell took to the front of the race and ran a strong 9:34 before handing over to Eilidh Gibson who extended the lead with a 9:50 before Laura Stark finished the job with the joint fastest time of the day in 9:19.A combined time of 28:43 saw them finish 1 minute clear of VP Glasgow to clinch a well deserved gold medal.

Young Females
Kilbarchan AAC A 1st Alisha Sivell 09:34 Eilidh Gibson 09:50 Laura Stark 09:19
Kilbarchan AAC B 5th Kimberley Gilchrist 10:44 Leona Murray 09:58 Kerry MacAngus 09:37
Kilbarchan AAC C 21st Louise Hastie 11:29 Aurelia Tiffoney 11:52 Kim Crawford 10:08

Next up was the young males with Lewis Hannigan leading the way with a superb run to come home in 3rd place in 9:14 with Cameron Hunter sitting 17th in 10:06. David McNair took over for the A team and manoeuvred into 1st place running 8:55 whilst Andrew MacAngus was scything through the field to move the B team up into 5th place with the fastest under 15 leg of the day, 8:36. Conor Thomson completed the job to win a second gold medal for Kilbarchan on the day with a solid 8:39 with Sam McNair also moving his team onto the podium with an 8:23 to grab a bronze.

Alisha Sivell holding off the opposition (photo by Kenny Phillips)
Alisha Sivell holding off the opposition (photo by Kenny Phillips)

Young Males
Kilbarchan AAC A 1st Lewis Hannigan 09:14 David McNair 08:55 Conor Thomson 08:39
Kilbarchan AAC B 3rd Cameron Hunter 10:06 Andrew MacAngus 08:36 Sam McNair 08:23
Kilbarchan AAC D 7th James Orr 10:13 Michael Simson 08:50 Josh Hendry 08:51
Kilbarchan AAC E 12th Harry Orr 10:13 Cameron Corrigan 09:08 James Toal 08:59
Kilbarchan AAC C 19th Seamus Mowberry 11:03 Craig Kennedy 08:57 Aidan Comerford 08:42
Kilbarchan AAC F 26th Max Hendry 10:41 Cameron Wright 08:55 Suleiman Niven 10:21
Kilbarchan AAC H 38th Brodie Gillanders 11:27 Gavin McKay 10:16 Liam Donoghue 09:39
Kilbarchan AAC G 46th Ross Kennedy 13:26 Harry Walton 08:58 Scott Ritchie 10:06

Conor Thomson heading for home (photo by Kenny Phillips)
Conor Thomson heading for home (photo by Kenny Phillips)

The Senior Women have a good record in this event having won gold over the last 5 years but strong opposition arrived in force with VP Glasgow and Shettleston harriers providing stern opposition this time.
Christina Rankin led the team out with a 15:25 sitting in 3rd when Natalie Sharp took over to run 16:43 coming home in 5th pace, a great run by Sarah Dempsey saw them leap back onto the podium to take bronze with a 15:14.
Julia Harris ran a solid 17:28 (4th faster F45 time on the day) but we were unable to field a full B team.

Senior Women
Kilbarchan AAC A 3rd Christina Rankin 15:25 Natalie Sharp 16:43 Sarah Dempsey 15:14
Kilbarchan AAC B Julia Harris 17:28

Christina Rankin heading a strong pack early on (photo by Donna Matthews)
Christina Rankin heading a strong pack early on (photo by Donna Matthews)

The action concluded with the Senior men racing over 4 legs. Callum Matthews got the team off to an excellent start coming home in 12:59 sitting second place before handing over to Gavin McArdle who ran the exact same time but in 4th place. That was were things settled down and Scott MacAulay 13:50 and Sam Davies 13:44 maintained the position but couldn’t bridge the gap to break onto the podium.
A strong run from a youthful B team saw them finish in 9th place with the vets team also finishing in 9th.

Senior Men
Kilbarchan AAC A 4th Callum Matthews 12:59 Gavin McArdle 12:59 Scott MacAulay 13:50 Samuel Davies 13:44
Kilbarchan AAC B 9th Thomas McDonald 13:55 Scott McLardie 13:39 Cameron Dickson 14:31 Euan Trout 13:36
Kilbarchan AAC D 9th VETS Robert Quinn 13:44 Alan Craig 15:33 Stuart Tytler 16:44 Robert Snodgrass 16:53
Kilbarchan AAC C Graham Evans 14:16 Steven Hill 17:28 Grant Sandilands 16:50

Gavin McArdle, Callum Matthews, Scott MacAulay & Sam Davies


Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.